Garden Summer Lovin’ for a Delightful Fall Harvest

26 Aug
Newly planted Red Winter Kale on my garden's North side.

Newly planted Red Winter Kale on my garden’s North side.

I am a novice gardener. I plant, water, weed and let nature do its thing. So when I see a vine full of  sweet Cherry Tomatoes or a bountiful Basil bush, I geek out. I think it’s the Bee’s Knees. It’s true. I have a bit of a love affair with my garden… I tell my plants their beautiful, shower their feet with chicken poop and manure chocolates, but nothing compares to the nourishment I get in the end. I think I first became enamoured as a little girl, eating strawberries straight from the patch and selling our pumpkins on the highway after Nebraska Husker Football games.  This is why I’m so excited for my first Fall harvest! I probably planted a bit too late this summer, but who cares? I got nothing but love.

If you want to join in on the late summer planting party for a delish Fall harvest, I put together a handy-dandy veggie list for us Midwesterners and Great Plainers (is that even a word?!). Choose whatever your little heart desires and give it a go: arugula, beets, broccoli (transplants), Brussels sprouts (transplants), cabbage (transplants), cauliflower (transplants), carrots, chinese cabbage, collard greens, kale, mustard greens, peas, radishes, spinach, swiss chard and turnips.

I want to know about your experience. What is the best time to plant for a Fall harvest? What are your favorite vegetables to plant?

For more fabulous health and wellness tips, visit Stephanie Bell Wellness on Facebook or Twitter.

Leave a Reply

