Homemade Produce Wash: How to Get the Funk Off Your Fruit (and Veggies)

19 May
This pear is about to get a spa treatment.

This pear is about to get a spa treatment.

Obvious statement: I dig gardening and Farmers’ Markets. Always have, always will. I remember many instances eating strawberries and chives straight from my parents’ garden as a little girl. No rinsing or checking for bugs… maybe just a little air to blow the dirt off if I noticed any. Probably not my finest moment in food hygiene, but I definitely excelled at the Farm to Table experience in my younger years.

 

Now that I am a gardening adult, fully aware of the amount of manure I use in my garden, I like to make sure my food is actually clean before I eat it. The secret weapon: apple cider vinegar. Not only can it make your hair shine and improve your digestion, but this little wonder can clean your produce of dirt, bugs and bacteria. Woot, woot!

 

Here’s how…

 

Mix 1 Tbsp of apple cider vinegar (I prefer Bragg’s) for every 1 cup of filtered water you use. Place the produce in a bowl or your kitchen sink (make sure the sink is clean) and soak it in this mixture for at least 5 minutes. Scrub (with a designated produce scrub brush or your hands), rinse with water, pat dry and savor!

4 Responses to “Homemade Produce Wash: How to Get the Funk Off Your Fruit (and Veggies)”

  1. acvhub May 28, 2014 at 8:39 am #

    I have only started doign this recently but it is amazing how much stuff comes of the fruit and vegetables. We use a lot of fresh produce in our household and after washing the weeks supply in the sink with apple cider vinegar there is a visible layer of residue left in the sink.

    Well worth trying out for anyone keen on organic living and a toxin free lifestyle.

    • stephsbell June 2, 2014 at 8:26 pm #

      Thank you so much for sharing! I completely agree… I never realized how much residue is on there.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Swapping Grains for Greens: How to Use Collard Greens for Wraps | Squats and Squash - June 2, 2014

    […] Step 1: Soak and clean greens in water and apple cider vinegar. […]

  2. Mediterranean Salad with Toasted Walnuts | Squats and Squash - June 30, 2014

    […] Pre-heat oven to 400°. Clean vegetables, place tomatoes in a large glass mixing bowl (after patting them dry) and set aside the remainder […]

Leave a Reply

